भारतीय संविधान में कितनी भाषा है

Information related to language in the Indian Constitution

As the whole world knows that India is a country of diversity, it has different lifestyles, clothes, people of many religions, many types of culture and many types of languages ​​are spoken. But if we talk about the national language of India , then no language has been given the status of national language. If we talk about Hindi language then it is the most spoken language in the entire country. But its reach is very less among the people of South India, hence Tamil, Malayalam and Telugu are used more in the languages ​​of South India. In North India, the languages ​​of South India are rarely used.

Also read:  What is the national language of India?


Also read:  What is the Preamble of the Indian Constitution?

How many languages ​​are there in the Indian Constitution?

If we talk about the total languages ​​spoken in India, then it will be very difficult to give accurate information. Now if we talk about how many languages ​​have been included in the Indian Constitution, then a total of 22 Indian languages ​​have been included in the Indian Constitution. Which have been recognized by the Parliament of India.


Also read:  Know what are the fundamental rights of an Indian citizen!

Languages ​​included in the 8th Schedule of the Indian Constitution

The 8th Schedule of the Indian Constitution is completely related to the languages ​​of India. 22 Indian languages ​​of India have been taken in this schedule. Initially 14 of these languages ​​were included in the Constitution. Then in 1967, Sindhi language was added to it. Afterward, Manipuri language, Konkani language, and Nepali language were recognized by the Parliament in 1992. Subsequently, in 2004, Bodo language, Dogri language, Maithili language, and Santhali language were included in this schedule. Two languages ​​have been officially recognized in the Constitution of India, Hindi and English.

Also read:  Meaning of code of conduct


Also read:  What is Public Interest Litigation (PIL)

The names of 22 languages ​​included in the 8th Schedule of the Indian Constitution are as follows –

  1. Hindi
  2. Bengali
  3. Telugu
  4. Marathi
  5. tamil
  6. Urdu
  7. Gujarati
  8. Kannada
  9. Malayalam
  10. Odia
  11. Punjabi
  12. Assamese
  13. Maithili
  14. Santali
  15. cashmere
  16. Nepali
  17. Sindhi
  18. Konkani
  19. Dogri
  20. Manipuri
  21. Bodo
  22. Sanskrit

Also read:  What is Constitution, what is the meaning of written Constitution?

Apart from this, there has been a demand to include 38 other languages ​​in the 8th Schedule of the Constitution. The names of these languages ​​are as follows –

  1. Angika language
  2. Banjara language
  3. Bajjika
  4. Bhojpuri language
  5. Bhoti language
  6. bhotiya language
  7. Bundeli language
  8. Chhattisgarhi language
  9. Dhakti language
  10. English language
  11. Garhwali language
  12. gondi language
  13. Gojri language
  14. ho language
  15. kutchi language
  16. Kamtapuri language
  17. karbi language
  18. Khasi language
  19. Kodava language
  20. kakbarak language
  21. Kumaoni language
  22. Kurak language
  23. Kurmali language
  24. lepcha language
  25. Limbu language
  26. mizo language
  27. magahi
  28. Mundari language
  29. nagpuri language
  30. Nicobarese language
  31. Himachali language
  32. pali language
  33. Rajasthani language
  34. Koshali/Sambalpuri language
  35. Shauraseni language
  36. Saraiki language
  37. tenyidi language
  38. Tulu language

Also read:  List of subjects included in the 11th Schedule of the Indian Constitution

How many languages ​​are spoken in India

According to the 2001 census, the figures of the most spoken languages ​​in India are as follows, in which the top 11 languages ​​of India have been assessed:

  1. Hindi – 551.4 million
  2. English – 125.3 million
  3. Bengali – 91.1 million
  4. Telugu – 84.9 million
  5. Marathi – 84.1 million
  6. Tamil – 66.7 million
  7. Urdu – 59.1 million
  8. Kannada – 50.7 million
  9. Gujarati – 50.2 million
  10. Odia – 36.6 million
  11. Malayalam – 33.7 million

Also read:  How many parts, articles and schedules are there in the Indian Constitution?

Six languages ​​of India have been given the status of classical languages, whose names are mentioned as follows-

  • Sanskrit
  • tamil
  • Telugu
  • Kannada
  • Odia
  • Malayalam

Also read:  What is the Constitution Amendment Bill? 

Here we gave information about how many languages ​​are there in the Indian Constitution, and the languages ​​included in the 8th Schedule of the Constitution. If you have any question or idea in your mind related to this information, or want to get any other information related to it, then you can ask through the comment box, we are waiting for your feedback and suggestions. Have been To get more information, keep visiting our portal .

Also read:  Why did the Constitution come into force only on 26 January?

Also read:  What is the difference between Governance and Administration?

Also read: When was the Indian Constituent Assembly formed?